Canon Serenar 85mm f/2.0 Clean, Lubricate, Adjust (CLA)

Pic 1

This Canon Serenar 85mm f/2.0 is in excellent condition, but has a bit too much drag on the focus ring and some oil on the aperture blades. I know with a CLA it will operate smoothly and more freely.
For an 85mm lens it is long, but has a small diameter. It’s also very heavy, being made almost entirely of brass. There are no plastic parts on this lens.
There are a lot of little screws to keep track of. The set-screws come in groups that aren’t necessarily the same size. Still, compared to other lenses this one is pretty simple.
You can read more about its history in another post.
(follow the images left to right, top to bottom)

Like I said, there are a lot of little screws, but overall this isn’t a very hard lens to work on. Just be careful because they are very old lenses and slightly rare.
If you liked this CLA be sure to read the other CLA articles I have. There are three of these Serenar lenses and a Canon FD 35mm tilt/shift.

6 thoughts on “Canon Serenar 85mm f/2.0 Clean, Lubricate, Adjust (CLA)

  1. Your photos were very helpful in overhaulling my Serenar 100/4! The hardest part was reinstalling the little curved L-shaped brass piece under the focus ring. Thank you for this tutorial.

    Like

  2. Hello, I just acquired a nice minty looking Canon (IV F or S) rangefinder with three lenses. The 50mm and 35mm Serenars are fine I think, but the 85mm f1.9 I has 1 or 2 aperture blades that have left their place and bent. I unfortunately worked the aperture before I noticed this, not sure if I made them worse. They might be fixable if someone could reach them from the front. I have been able to get to them from the back, but that’s not enough. I’m afraid to disassemble the entire lens. The glass looks great and I would love to save this. Is there somebody who I could send it to for $$ to try and save it?

    Like

    1. I can certainly understand the need to send it out when something is damaged. I don’t know anyone in particular, but there are places like Duclos that might work on it. I saw someone mention a camera repair company in North Dakota which I think is called Camera Clinic. Good luck!

      Like

      1. Well, as it turns out after sleeping on the problem, I used a curved dental-style metal pick and carefully went in through back of the aperture opening to the front of the blades and easily popped it back into place. We’ll see how it works!

        Like

  3. Great info and good pictures Thanks for putting this together. I have Canon Serenar 85 f2 #55400, pretty close to yours. After taking that first set of set screws off, I cannot budge the mount section from the body at all. I tried removing the two screws that you said do not need to be removed, but that did not help. Seems like it is all one piece of metal here. Any ideas for how to get this apart?

    Like

Leave a comment